The Killing Fields

 Sorry for my long hiatus from the blog. I would claim to be busy, but then wonder if that could possibly be true considering how little we all seem to work here in Hanoi. I have also been away for a week in Cambodia during Tết, which is the Vietnamese New Year. It’s been great having 2 new years, I feel a lot more inspired to actually keep my resolutions, all of which were well and truly broken the first time around.

This is day number one of our Cambodian adventure. All photos taken after a rather horrific 12 hour bus ride, although I say this only as I never seem to be able to sleep on buses. We arrived in Phnom Penh in the morning on the night bus and set of to see the killing fields. Phnom Penh is one of those crazy cities where everything seems to be in chaotic technicolour, but sadly we didn’t get to see much of it and I am definitely keen to go back.

 We went to the killing fields by tuk tuk, which I think post Cambodia, may be my favourite form of transport. The killing fields themselves were unsettling. The weather was beautiful and the fields are surrounded by trees and there are butterflies everywhere. There was however a strange smell in the air and evidence of mass graves all across the field. In the middle of the field a memorial had been built, which was filled with the skulls of the people who were executed there.  Everyone walked around in silence, listening to a recording that explained exactly what the Khmer Rouge had done to the Cambodian people. While it wasn’t exactly a happy experience, I would definitely recommend going if you’re ever in Phnom Penh and it’s made me realise that it is something that I need to learn more about.

I have heaps more Cambodia photos and I will be posting these soon.

xxT

 

This entry was posted in Life, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Killing Fields

  1. mrsbr says:

    We were there a couple of months ago. It’s a very dark place but PP is an amazing city!

  2. Nadia says:

    I absolutely love your blog! I can’t stop scrolling down and reading past posts…can’t believe I am only now stumbling upon it. Can’t wait to read/see more!!

    xoxo

    http://www.penniesalamode.blogspot.com
    Fashion. At a reasonable price.

Leave a Reply

